Thursday, May 29, 2014

Lotuschef in To Tell Or Not To Tell? [2] - The Asura

Asura (Sanskrit, Pāli: असुर; Tibetan: Lha-ma-yin;Japanese: 阿修羅 Ashura; Korean: 아수라;Chinese: 阿修罗; pinyin: Āxiūluō, Vietnamese: A tu la) in Buddhism is the name of the lowest ranks of the deities or demigods of the Kāmadhātu. They are described as having three heads with three faces and four to six arms.

Origins and etymology

Asura in Kōfuku-ji, Nara, 734,Japanese

The Buddhist asuras are broadly derived, in general character, from the wicked asuras of Hinduism, but have acquired some very distinctive myths which are only found in Buddhist texts.

For the etymology of asura, see Aesir-Asura correspondence.

In its Buddhist context, the word is sometimes translated "Titan" (suggesting the wars of the Greek gods and Titans), "demigod", or "antigod".

Character of the Asuras

While all the gods of the Kāmadhātu are subject to the passions to some degree, the Asuras above all of them have become addicted to them, especially wrath, pride, envy, insincerity, falseness, boasting, and bellicosity.

Because of their passions, rebirth as an Asura is considered to be one of the four unhappy births (together with rebirth as an animal, a preta, or a being in Naraka). 

The state of an Asura reflects the mental state of a human being obsessed with ego, force and violence, always looking for an excuse to get into a fight, angry with everyone and unable to maintain calm or solve problems peacefully.

Beings may go to the Asura realm because in human form they had good intentions, but committed bad actions such as harming others.

Concerning Asuras, the Great Calm-Observation by Zhiyi says

“Always desiring to be superior to others, having no patience for inferiors and belittling strangers;
like a hawk, flying high above and looking down on others, 
and yet outwardly displaying justice, worship, wisdom, and faith —
this is raising up the lowest order of good and walking the way of the Asuras.”

The Asuras are said to experience a much more pleasurable life than humans, 
but they are plagued by envy for the devas, whom they can see just as animals perceive humans. 

The Asuras of some inferior realms however, are malevolent (such as the corruptor Mara) and can be referred to as demons. They are alternatively called Rakshasas.

In terms of power, Asuras rank above humans but below most of the other deities. 
They live in the area at the foot of Mount Sumeru, at least partially in the sea that surrounds it.

On the popular cosmic picture of the Bhavacakra, the Asuras are sometimes shown as a sixth stage of existence, and sometimes grouped together with the devas

The five-stage version was the original, and the addition of the Asuras as the sixth was done in Tibet on the authority of  Je Tsongkhapa.

The leaders of the Asuras are called Asurendra (Pāli: Asurinda) "Asura-lord". 

There are several of these, as the Asuras are broken into different tribes or factions. Among them are the bow-wielding Dānaveghasa Asuras, and the terrible-faced Kālakañjakas. 

The principal leaders are Vemacitrin (Pāli: Vepacitti), Rāhu (also called Veroca or Verocana), and Pahārāda.

Case 2
In this case, the woman resembles Asura!
YES! How to tell the Husband to be?

As in Case 1; I had no choice but told the groom to help his wife to be to take refuge in GM Lu and encourage her to cultivate.

{... the Asuras above all of them have become addicted to them, especially wrath, pride, envy, insincerity, falseness, boasting, and bellicosity.}

Having a partner for life that has these "unsociable" attributes, One can only meet with so-called "Bad Luck"!

However, these people are often mistaken for creatures of 3 Lower Realm of Animals; Hungry Ghosts; and Hell Beings.

What is the major difference?
Intelligence or Wisdom!

Most in the 3 Lower Realms lack Intelligence and delude themselves that they are successful in their Falseness!

I am referring to all that have attributes of beings of the 3 Lower realms, even though they have Human Forms!

Remember GM Lu's "Sword of the Yogi"?
White Tara gave GM a list of those students that have "dropped" into the 3 Lower Realms, these students are from VMs to lay-students!

Now know why even VMs are unable to understand Buddha Dharma shared by GM?

Now Affirmation of a 9-year old  Living Buddha; who has all Buddha's attributes already, many still think they can get by as usual, or carrying on their "Evil ways"! :)

Cheers all

Om Guru Lian Sheng Siddhi Hom
Lama Lotuschef

Edited from Notes of Lotuschef

Related Posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment