Sunday, October 9, 2016

Ten Bodhisattva Bhūmi 菩萨十地


Ten Bodhisattva Bhūmi (Sanskrit; Tibetan "byang chub sems dpa'i sa", enlightenment-being grounds/levels) are the Ten stages on the Mahayana bodhisattva's path of awakening.

The Sanskrit term bhūmi literally means "ground" or "foundation". Each stage represents a level of attainment, and serves as a basis for the next one. Each level marks a definite advancement in one's training, that is accompanied by progressively greater power and wisdom.

The Avataṃsakasūtra refers to the following ten bhūmis:
1. The first bhūmi, the Very Joyous. (Skt. Pramudita), in which one rejoices at realizing a partial aspect of the truth;
2. The second bhūmi, the Stainless. (Skt. Vimala), in which one is free from all defilement;
3. The third bhūmi, the Light-Maker. (Skt. Prabhakari), in which one radiates the light of wisdom;
4. The fourth bhūmi, the Radiant Intellect. (Skt. Archishmati), in which the radiant flame of wisdom burns away earthly desires;
5. The fifth bhūmi, the Difficult to Master. (Skt. Sudurjaya), in which one surmounts the illusions of darkness, or ignorance as the Middle Way;
6. The sixth bhūmi, the Manifest. (Skt. Abhimukhi) in which supreme wisdom begins to manifest;
7. The seventh bhūmi, the Gone Afar. (Skt. Duramgama), in which one rises above the states of the Two vehicles;
8. The eighth bhūmi, the Immovable. (Skt. Achala), in which one dwells firmly in the truth of the Middle Way and cannot be perturbed by anything;
9. The ninth bhūmi, the Good Intelligence. (Skt. Sadhumati), in which one preaches the Law freely and without restriction;
10. The tenth bhūmi, the Cloud of Doctrine. (Skt. Dharmamegha), in which one benefits all sentient beings with the Law (Dharma), just as a cloud sends down rain impartially on all things.


GM Lu touched on the initial stages of Bodhisattva Bhumi today.

Just read and know what GM Lu is sharing. :)

Cheers all

Om Guru Lian Sheng Siddhi Hom
Lama Lotuschef

No comments:

Post a Comment